You already know that getting charged with drunk driving can have severe consequences. Just getting pulled over on suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI) can be a nightmare, and you may not know that refusing to take a breath test can cost you your license, even if you weren’t drinking. If you are convicted of or plead guilty to DWI in Arkansas, you can go to jail for up to one year for your first offense. Here are some of the basics that you need to know about Arkansas DUI/DWI laws.
Blood-Alcohol Content (BAC)
Your BAC is usually measured with a breathalyzer but may be measured with a blood or urine test. If you are 21 years old or older, you can be charged with DWI if your BAC is .08% or higher. For drivers who are under 21, there is a “zero-tolerance” policy, and you can be charged for a BAC of .02%.
If your BAC is .15% or greater, it is considered aggravated DWI, which comes with enhanced penalties.
Arkansas DUI/DWI Penalties
DWI is a misdemeanor, in Arkansas, until the fourth offense, which is a felony. As you would expect, penalties for DWI increase with repeat offenses. Whether you are facing your first offense or a subsequent offences, the penalties are increased if you had a passenger under 16 years old in the vehicle.
Penalties for first DWI can include:
- 24 hours to one year in jail
- $150 to $1,000 fine, plus court costs
- Six months driver’s license suspension
- After your license is reinstated, up to one year driving with an ignition interlock device, at your expense
If you have been charged with DWI or breath test refusal in Arkansas, call Milligan Law Offices at 479-783-2213 or email us right away to learn more about your rights.